Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy, Medical Director of The Eye Foundation, [A group of 15 super speciality eye hospitals] and Chairperson of Academic Research Committee of All India Ophthalmological Society was awarded the prestigious Honorary FAICO (Fellow of All India Collegium of Ophthalmology) Award for her untiring clinical and academic work in Refractive Surgery in Ophthalmology at the All India Ophthalmological Society's 80th Annual conference in Mumbai recently.

India cinema icon and internationally acclaimed celebrity Aishwarya Rai Bachchan presented the award to her.

More than 7000 Ophthalmologists across India took part in the conference.

Dr. Chitra Ramamurthy has been in private practice, since 1990 with keen interest in cataract, refractive and glaucoma surgery, heading the latter department over the years.

Presently the Chairperson, Academic and Research Committee of All India Ophthalmological Society after a 3-year stint as Member, Scientific Committee of the AIOS. She has been the pioneer in refractive surgery, performing Lasik since 1997, doing all the latest of refractive procedures that evolved along the trajectory of evolution of refractive surgery.

She has been a guest speaker & invited faculty at State, National & International levels and contributed to different text books in Refractive surgery. She has received the best paper awards in the state and national levels and many oration awards.